1@1`.

## **INNER WHEEL OVER THE YEARS**

- 1905: Mr. Paul Harris started the first Rotary Club.
- **1920:** The wives of Rotarians in Great Britain and Ireland joined hands to help their husbands with social work undertaken by Rotary.
- **1924**: 10th January, The inaugural meeting of Manchester Club (Great Britain) was held in Harriots Bath where the name of "Inner Wheel" was adopted and now celebrated as International Inner Wheel Day.
- · Mrs. Oliver Golding was the founder President and Mrs. Nixon was the Secretary.
- The first six rules were agreed upon. (i) The name shall be "International Inner Wheel"; (ii) The emblem shall be: Logo; (iii) The Inner Wheel year shall be 1st July to 30th June; (iv) Inner Wheel shall not be sectarian or party political; (v) There shall be nomenclature for all offices at International, National, District and Club level; (vi) Official language shall be English.
- 1928: The first Inner Wheel District No. 5 (England) was born.
- 1931: The First Overseas Club was founded in Ballarat.
- **1934:** 6th May. The Association of Inner Wheel in Great Britain & Ireland came into being.
- **1936:** Since, then the newly formed Inner Wheel Clubs were given a Certificate of Membership or "The Charter".
- **1948:** The first overseas I.W. District" The Netherland District" was formed. The same was later on numbered as District 26.
- **1955:** Inner Wheel came to India with the formation of Inner Wheel Club of Ahmadabad as District 75 now District 305 (The First District in India). Mrs. Minnie Camma was the Charter President of IWC Ahmedabad the first club in India.
- **1965:** The first Inner Wheel District in India was formed under the Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India. Founder was Mrs. Asthma Mascati.
- 1966: Mrs. Malti Rana was appointed the first Inner Wheel Representative.
- **1967:** 1st July, IIW came into being. The first Board Meeting was held in Copenhagen. Five Board Members were present from Denmark, Great Britain & Ireland, Netherlands, Norway and Sweden.

1@1

- **1968:** Lavender Weightman became the first International Inner Wheel President and came to India. She combined three Districts of Gujarat, Saurashtra and Bombay and named it "National Council of India".
- 1970: The first IIW Convention was held at Hague, The Netherland.
- **1976:** The Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh was formed. Raksha Mehta (District 314) was the first President.
- 1979-80: First Edition of practical guidelines for Association, District and Clubs was prepared and printed on behalf of Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India by Past Association President Late Dr. Saroj Lalwani and the revised Guidelines in the year 2006-07 (Second Edition).
- **1985:** 1st July District 322 (Sri Lanka) and District 328 (Bangladesh) were delinked from the Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India.
- **1986-87:** Mrs. Minna Kapur was the first Indian lady to honour the highest office of International Inner Wheel President.
- **1993-94:** Mrs. Anita Agarwal became the second Indian lady to honour the highest office of International Inner Wheel President.
- **1993-94:** I.W.C. of Port Blair is the first Inner Wheel Club in the union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Island which was added to Association of Inner Wheel Club in India by District 329.
- 2007-08: Mrs. Kamala Ramakrishnan became the third Indian lady to occupy the highest office of International Inner Wheel President.
- 2010-11: Mrs. Pallavi Shah became the fourth Indian lady to assume charges of the highest office of International Inner Wheel President.
- 2013-15: Dr. (Mrs.) Kapila Gupta the 1st Indian Lady is elected International Inner Wheel Treasurer.
- **2014-15:** Mrs. Abha Gupta is the current International Inner Wheel President and she will be the fifth Indian lady to assume charge of this highest office.
- 2017-18: Dr. Mrs Kapila Gupta became the sixth Indian lady to hold the highest post of the International Inner Wheel President.
- **2020-21:** Dr. Bina Vyas is the 7th Indian Lady to hold the highest post of the International Inner Wheel President.

